Twenty-nine students inducted into NHS

On Monday, November 6, the Vermilion High School National Honor Society inducted its 86th class of new members in a ceremony at the auditorium. The new members were welcomed to the society by Society President Mitchell Boice, Vice-President Evan Ozmun, Treasurer Kylie Gwynn and Secretary Kayleigh Penton. Also in attendance were Vermilion High School Principal Lisa Deliz, who offered the opening remarks for the ceremony.  Membership in the Honor Society is granted based on the four pillars of character, leadership, scholarship, and service.

The new inductees were selected by a faculty committee which reviewed their applications and qualifications. The incoming group includes the following Senior members Hunter Cyran, Erica Eschenauer, McKenna Kidd, Callie Litzendorf, Riley Lowe, Victoria Piskur, Kyra Stovicek, and Hannah Stratton. Junior members of the society consist of Elizabeth Albrethsen, Sterling Benko, Ryan Bodeker, Danielle Robinson, David Dotson, Rachel Frisky, Molly Gregory, Sam Herron, Maggie Hoffman, Kennedy Jo Hughes, Grace Keller, Nina LeBlanc, Hannah Miller, Reese Miller, Luke Pena, Ellen Riegelsberger, Erin Salmons, Riley Schnieders, Hannah Schultz, Shane Trojan, and Macy Urig.

Members of NHS work on various service projects throughout the year including peer tutoring and Christmas decorating with Vermilion in Bloom.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: