For Auld Lang Syne and other reasons we again say goodbye

By Rich Tarrant THE VERMILION LIGHTHOUSE: served as a navigational aid on the west breakwall of Vermilion’s harbor from 1877 to 1929. It was removed / dismantled after it was damaged in an ice storm. For the next six years it sat in the Buffalo, New York Lighthouse Depot. But finally it was relocated andContinue reading “For Auld Lang Syne and other reasons we again say goodbye”

Vermilion’s iconic lighthouse was vandalized with crude graffiti

By Karen Cornelius Graffiti scratched around the base of Vermilion’s replica 1877 lighthouse perched on the former museum property’s hill at the foot of Main Street was discovered by lighthouse keeper Tim Costello on Sunday, July 16. Any vandalism to private property is upsetting to the owner who has to make repairs, but to damageContinue reading “Vermilion’s iconic lighthouse was vandalized with crude graffiti”